أنواع متلازمة داون

Types of Down Syndrome

 
 

Trisomy 21 (nondisjunction)

This is the most commonly occurring type of Down syndrome, accounting for 95% of cases. Normally, babies are born with 23 chromosome pairs (or 46 chromosomes in total) in each cell – one inherited from the mother and one from the father. In Trisomy 21, there is an error in cell division called “nondisjunction”. This results in a baby being born with an extra copy of chromosome 21, meaning there are three copies of chromosome 21 instead of the usual two. As the embryo develops, the extra chromosome is replicated in every cell of the body.

 

Translocation

Translocation accounts for about 4% of all cases of Down syndrome. In translocation, part of chromosome 21 breaks off during cell division and attaches to another chromosome, typically chromosome 14. While the total number of chromosomes in the cells remain 46, the presence of an extra part of chromosome 21 causes the characteristics of Down syndrome.

 

Mosaicism

Mosaicism occurs when nondisjunction of chromosome 21 takes place in one - but not all – of the initial cell divisions after fertilization. In these cases, there is a mixture of two types of cells - some containing the usual 46 chromosomes and others containing 47. Those cells with 47 chromosomes contain an extra chromosome 21.

Mosaicism accounts for about 1% of all cases of Down syndrome. Research has indicated that individuals with mosaic Down syndrome may have fewer characteristics of Down syndrome than those with other types. However, broad generalizations are not possible due to the wide range of abilities people with Down syndrome possess.

 

Incidence

One in every 700 babies is born with Down syndrome, making it the most common genetic condition on a worldwide basis.

Down syndrome can occur in people of all races and economic levels. We do know that older women have an increased chance of having a child with Down syndrome. Since many couples are postponing parenting until later in life, the incidence of Down syndrome conceptions is expected to increase. Therefore, genetic counselling for parents is becoming increasingly important.
 

Maternal Age Incidence of Down Syndrome
20 1 in 2,000
21 1 in 1,700
22 1 in 1,500
23 1 in 1,400
24 1 in 1,300
25 1 in 1,200
26 1 in 1,100
27 1 in 1,050
28 1 in 1,000
29 1 in 950
30 1 in 900
31 1 in 800
32 1 in 720
33 1 in 600
34 1 in 450
Maternal Age Incidence of Down Syndrome
35 1 in 350
36 1 in 300
37 1 in 250
38 1 in 200
39 1 in 150
40 1 in 100
41 1 in 80
42 1 in 70
43 1 in 50
44 1 in 40
45 1 in 30
46 1 in 25
47 1 in 20
48 1 in 15
49 1 in 10

Reference

The information featured in this section is reproduced via an exclusive arrangement with National Down Syndrome Society [ONLINE] Available at http://www.ndss.org

أنواع متلازمة داون



الثلاثي 21

هو النوع الأكثر شيوعاً، ويشكل 95% من ذوي متلازمة داون. عادة يولد الأطفال وهم يحملون 46 كروموسوم (23 من الأم و 23 من الأب) في كل خلية. وفي الثلاثي 21 يحصل خطأ في إنقسام الخلايا يسمى "عدم الإنفصال" ونتيجته بأن يبدأ تكون الجنين ويتطور نموه بنسخة إضافية من الكروموسوم رقم 21 في كل خلية. حيث تكون ثلاث كروموسومات تحمل الرقم 21 بدل من إثنين. 
 

 الإنتقال

يشكل 4% من ذوي متلازمة داون وفي هذا النوع جزء من الكروموسوم رقم 21 ينقسم ويلتصق بكروموسوم آخر وهو الكروموسوم رقم 14 عادة. في حين أن إجمالي عدد الكروموسومات 46 إلا أن وجود جزء إضافي من الكروموسوم رقم 21 هو سبب حدوث متلازمة داون.
 

 المركب أو متعدد الخلايا

يحدث النوع المركب عندما يكون هناك خلل في الإنقسامات الأولى للخلايا ولكن ليست إنقسامات كاملة بحيث يكون هناك الخلايا المعتادة التي تحمل 46 كروموسوم. وأخرى تحمل 47، حيث تحمل هذه الخلايا كروموسوم إضافي في رقم 21.

يشكل النوع المركب 1% من ذوي متلازمة داون، وأشارت الأبحاث إلى أن الأشخاص ذوي متلازمة داون من النوع المركب أو "متعدد الخلايا" يحملون خصائص أقل لمتلازمة داون من الأنواع الأخرى، ومع ذلك لايمكننا تعميم ذلك مع القدرات والإمكانيات المختلفة لذوي متلازمة داون.
 

حدوث متلازمة داون

تحدث متلازمة داون بنسبة طفل واحد تقريباً في كل 700 ولادة طبيعية وهي أكثر حالات الاضطرابات الصبغية شيوعا.

وتحدث في جميع الأوساط الحضارية، والمجموعات العرقية، وعلى جميع المستويات الإقتصادية والإجتماعية.

وتزداد فرصة  إنجاب طفل ذو متلازمة داون كلما تقدم عمر الأم. وحيث أن الكثير من الأزواج يؤجلون الإنجاب لعمر متقدم من حياتهم لذا يكون من المتوقع أن تزيد فرص إنجابهم لطفل ذو متلازمة داون. لذا أصبحت  تقديم المشورة الوراثية للآباء والأمهات ذات أهمية متزايدة.
 

عمر الأم حدوث متلازمة داون
20 1 في كل  2,000 
21 1 في كل 1,700
22 1 في كل 1,500
23 1 في كل 1,400
24 1 في كل 1,300
25 1 في كل 1,200
26 1 في كل 1,100
27 1 في كل 1,050
28 1 في كل 1,000
29 1 في كل 950
30 1 في كل 900
31 1 في كل 800
32 1 في كل 720
33 1 في كل 600
34 1 في كل 450
عمر الأم حدوث متلازمة داون
35 1 في كل 350
36 1 في كل 300
37 1 في كل 250
38 1 في كل 200
39 1 في كل 150
40 1 في كل 100
41 1 في كل 80
42 1 في كل 70
43 1 في كل 50
44 1 في كل 40
45 1 في كل 30
46 1 في كل 25
47 1 في كل 20
48 1 في كل 15
49 1 في كل 10

المراجع

تم إعادة إنتاج المعلومات الموجودة في هذا الفصل بموجب اتفاق حصري مع الجمعية الوطنية لمتلازمة داون. وهي متوفرة على الموقع الإلكتروني للجمعية: http://www.ndss.org